To make sure you never miss out on your favourite NEW stories, we're happy to send you some reminders

Click 'OK' then 'Allow' to enable notifications

Not now
OK
Advert
Advert
Advert

Police issue urgent warning over new iOS iPhone update

Kit Roberts

Published 
| Last updated 

Police issue urgent warning over new iOS iPhone update

Featured Image Credit: Jakub Porzycki/NurPhoto via Getty Images/Apple

Police have issued an urgent warning over a new feature in the latest iteration of iOS.

Many users will be familiar with the airdrop feature, which allows you to share files more or less instantly with nearby devices.

Loading…

Advert

Now, Apple has introduced a new feature to Airdrop called 'NameDrop'. This functions in a similar way, but allows users to share their contact information quickly.

The aim is to make swapping numbers easier, rather than having to manually input a contact into your phone.

But police have raised serious concerns about the safety of the new feature, as it could allow for that information to be very easily accessed.

While sharing your contact details does require a confirmation, if you're not sure what the pop up means or why it's come up you might inadvertently share your details with a stranger.

Advert
The feature is part of iOS 17. Credit: Jakub Porzycki/NurPhoto via Getty Images
The feature is part of iOS 17. Credit: Jakub Porzycki/NurPhoto via Getty Images

Likewise, if someone can get a guaranteed accurate contact for you, then it could be dangerous going down the line.

For example, a woman in a bar wants a man to leave her alone and gives him a fake number so he'll go. But if it was scanned, that wouldn't be possible.

Watertown Police Department from Connecticut posted a warning, saying: "With the new Apple update 'NameDrop' is enabled by default. With this feature enabled, anyone can place their phone next to yours (or your child’s phone) and automatically receive their contact information to include their picture, phone number, email address and more, with a tap of your unlocked screen."

Advert

The department went on to explain how to disable the feature.

Some people have highlighted it could pose a safety risk. Credit: Jaap Arriens/NurPhoto via Getty Images
Some people have highlighted it could pose a safety risk. Credit: Jaap Arriens/NurPhoto via Getty Images

"To disable this feature go to General - AirDrop - and shut off 'Bringing Devices Together'."

It added: "While in the airdrop settings, make sure you have 'contacts only' set so you don’t receive unwanted pictures from strangers."

Advert

However, some people claimed that the police's advice may have been a bit alarmist.

READ MORE:

Advert

One posted: "This is fear mongering. This is not a safety issue. You have to acknowledge the exchange."

Another wrote: "The two devices need to be unlocked and nearly touching one another, and even then both parties need to acknowledge the exchange with a tap for it to take place."

This is what it will look like. Credit: Apple
This is what it will look like. Credit: Apple

A third pointed out that even with approval, it might give people some peace of mind to know how to disable the feature.

They wrote: "Done. Thank you for this PSA! Approval or NOT, thank you for sharing this information. Always helpful to know more than less!"

UNILAD has reached out to Apple for comment.

Topics: Technology, News, World News, Apple

Kit Roberts
More like this
Advert
Advert
Advert

Chosen for YouChosen for You

News

Chilling last words shouted at missing teen after he jumped off cruise ship into shark-infested waters

8 hours ago

Most Read StoriesMost Read

MIT student creates device that is able to search the entire internet using just his mind

8 hours ago